Although the current vehicles in the market have all good quality, sometimes you might purchase the rotten apple, or in layman’s terms, a lemon car.
North Carolina Lemon Laws established what is considered a lemon car as well as your rights as a consumer.
Most consumers in North Carolina don’t realize that the lemon law can protect them from the financial impact of owning a lemon vehicle. In some cases, you might be entitled to a full refund.
How does a car qualify for lemon law?
Under most statues, for a vehicle to be considered a lemon it must be covered by the vehicle manufacturer, have a substantial defect and the issue must occur within a certain amount of time after purchase. Also, the car owner must demonstrate that a reasonable number of attempts have been made to repair the vehicle.
The following can demonstrate ‘reasonable attempts to repair’ un the NC lemon law:
- If your car suffers from a safety problem, the manufacturer only has one chance to fix the problem, if not, the car may be considered a lemon.
- Other than safety issues, the manufacturer has the right to attempt to repair the vehicle up to four times.
- If your vehicle is at the manufacturer’s garage or its authorized dealers for more than 20 days in one calendar year, then it may be considered a lemon in the North Carolina Lemon law.
Is there a lemon law for used cars?
NC Lemon Law only protects consumers who have purchased or lease new vehicles and qualifies as per requirements above.
Is there a 30 day lemon law in North Carolina?
The NC Lemon Law, AKA New Motor Vehicles Warranties Act applies to new vehicles only, this statue requires manufacturers to repair vehicles with issues that affect its safety, value or use within 24,000 miles or two years after the purchase took place.
How many days do you have for the lemon law?
Unless the issue affects safety, manufacturers usually have up to four attempts to repair the problem but also, if the vehicle has been in the shop for 30 days straight, it might qualify under the lemon law for remedy.